The Eastern Suburbs


Welcome to the Eastern Suburbs … or, as the locals call it, ‘the East’.

We believe it is one of the best parts, of the best city, in the best country, in the world!

The Eastern Suburbs is a general term used to describe the metropolitan area directly to the east and south-east of the Sydney central business district in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Eastern Suburbs can refer to the suburbswithin the local government areas of Woollahra, Waverley, Randwick and part of the City of Sydney. The Australian Bureau of Statistics’ “Eastern Suburbs Statistical Subdivision” includes only the Woollahra, Waverley and Randwick LGAs. According to the 2006 Census, the region’s population is 230,757.

The Eastern Suburbs of Sydney extends from the peninsula of South Head at Watsons Bay in the north to La Perouse at Botany Bay in the South.

At the northern part of the Eastern Suburbs are the affluent harbourside suburbs of Vaucluse, Rose Bay, Darling Point, Dover Heights, Double Bay, Point Piper, Watsons Bay, and Bellevue Hill.

Along the coast, are the Eastern Suburbs’s famous beachside suburbs of Bondi, Bondi Beach, North Bondi, Tamarama, Bronte, Clovelly and Coogee.

Centrally located in the middle of the Eastern Suburbs is Centennial Park. This 220 hectare park, or 100 acres in the old measurement, was dedicated by Sir Henry Parkes in January 1888 to celebrate the first 100 years of European settlement in Australia and described by him as ’emphatically the people’s park’. The Governor-General, Lord Hopetoun dedicated the park ‘to the people of New South Wales forever’.

Surrounding Centennial Park are the Eastern Suburbs parkside suburbs of Centennial Park, Woollahra, Paddington, Bondi Junction, Queens Park, Randwick and Kensington.

To the west are the inner-East suburbs of Darlinghurst, Moore Park, Kings Cross, Elizabeth Bay, Potts Point. Rushcutters Bay, and Woolloomooloo. The landscape in these areas is dominated by overhanging trees and renovated terrace houses.

Further south, the area is also known as South-Eastern Sydney. It includes suburbs such as Maroubra, Matraville, Malabar, Little Bay and La Perouse.

The largest commercial areas in the Eastern Suburbs are found at Bondi Junction, Double Bay, Rose Bay, Randwick and Maroubra.

The Eastern Suburbs features some of Sydney’s well-known beaches such as Bondi Beach, Tamarama Beach, Bronte Beach, Clovelly Beach, Coogee Beach and Maroubra Beach.

The majority of the Eastern Suburbs falls within the Federal Electoral Division of Wentworth. Malcolm Turnbull has represented the Division of Wentworth in Sydney’s eastern suburbs since his election in October 2004. He served as the federal Minister for Environment and Water Resources in 2007. Before entering parliamentary politics he practised as a journalist, barrister, company legal counsel, and merchant banker. In September 2008, Turnbull was chosen Liberal Party leader and Leader of the Opposition. He served for a little over a year.

The University of New South Wales is one of Australia’s leading universities located in Kensington.

The Sydney Roosters Rugby League club, formerly known as the Eastern Suburbs Roosters, is in the National Rugby League competition. Junior League clubs in the area are now affiliated with the South Sydney Rabbitohs Junior Rugby League.